April 17, 2024

La Ronge Northerner

Complete Canadian News World

Spirit Awards 2024 Winners: Full List

Spirit Awards 2024 Winners: Full List

The 2024 Independent Film Spirit Awards on Sunday awarded A24 Past life Best Feature Film and Best Director Celine Song at a ceremony on the beach in Santa Monica, giving the indie romantic drama a boost as it heads toward the Oscars where it competes for Best Picture.

Past life It topped the Best Featured Feature category which included Netflix May DecemberAmazon MGM Studios American fantasythe scout We are all strangersSony Pictures Classics' We have grown now And mobi Corridors.

“There is a concept in our film, an oriental concept, and it is called inyeon“It's about how being in the same place and time in this life means we already know each other for many, many lives that came before this one,” Song, in her directorial debut, said in her acceptance speech with producers and actors.

“I think while making this film, I felt that way about everyone on stage here… It feels like I've gotten to where I feel so much less alone because I know everyone here feels the same way — so thank you so much for everything.”

Winner of last year's Spirit Award for Best Picture, Everything everywhere at oncealso from A24, won the Oscar for Best Picture.

The other Oscar nominees did well today, with Jeffrey Wright winning Best Leading Performance for his film American fantasywhich also won Best Screenplay for writer-director Cord Jefferson; May December Writers Sammy Burch and Alex Mechanic won Best First Screenplay.

Past Lives, American Fiction And May December Today came tied for the most nominations with five. They were focus features keepers, An Oscar nominee for Best Picture but not a nominee for Best Picture here today, which took home the most awards with three: for frontrunner Da'Vine Joy Randolph for Best Supporting Performance, Dominic Cessa for Outstanding Performance, and Eagle Braille for Cinematography.

Other winners included in today's Oscars Anatomy of a fall Which won the Best International Film award Four girls Which won the Best Documentary Award.

RELATED: 2024 awards season calendar – Oscars dates, guilds, Tonys and more

The TV side has had multiple wins for The last of us (acting performances by Nick Offerman, Kevon Montreal Woodard), and meatwhich won for Best New Scripted Series and for Ally Wong, who even beat out co-star Steven Yeun in the Best Gender-Neutral Lead Performance in the New Scripted Series category.

RELATED: Nick Offerman slams 'homophobia' targeting his episode of 'The Last of Us' in Spirit Awards speech

Today's live stream ceremony, which was ably hosted Saturday Night Live Alum Aidy Bryant was occasionally interrupted by the sounds of a pro-Palestinian protester outside the event tent; His chants of “Long live Palestine” and “Ceasefire now” were heard during several speeches thanks to his use of a loudspeaker. Several speakers on stage noticed the noise, which continued for most of the show.

RELATED: Aidy Bryant's Spirit Awards monologue addresses AI, the strike, and the pains of hosting

Here's the full list of today's Spirit Awards winners:

Best feature
(given to the producer)

Past life
Producers: David Hinojosa, Pamela Koffler, Christine Vachon

Best bullet performance

Jeffrey Wright
American fantasy

Best director

Celine song
Past life

Best first feature
(The award is given to the director and producer)

One thousand and one
Director: AV Rockwell
Producers: Julia Lebedev, Rishi Rajani, Eddie Weisman, Lena Waithe, Brad Weston

Best super performance

Dominic Sessa

John Cassavetes Award
(Awarded for best film under $1 million; award goes to writer, director, and producer)

Director/Writer: Babak Jalali
Writer: Carolina Cavalli
Producers: Rachel Fung, Chris Martin, Morgana Mojemi, George Rush, Sodnia Shroff, Laura Wagner

Best cinematography

Eagle Braid

Best editing

Daniel Garber
How to blow up a pipeline

Best new written series
(Given to Creator, Executive Producer, Co-Executive Producer)

Creator/Executive Producer: Lee Seung Jin
Executive Producers: Steven Yeun, Ali Wong, Jake Schreier, Ravi Nandan, Allie Reich
Co-executive producers: Alice Jo, Carrie Kemper

Best Lead Performance in a New Written Series

Ali Wong

Best New Unscripted or Documentary Series
(The award is given to the creator, executive producer, and co-executive producer)

Dear Mama
Executive Producers: Lacey Järvi, Quincy 'QD3' Jones III, Stacy Robinson, Nelson George, Charles D. King, Peter Nelson, Adel 'Future' Nour, Jamal Joseph, Ted Skillman, Allen Hughes, Steve Berman, Mark Cimino, Jodi Gerson, John Janek, Nicholas Verrall, Nigel Sinclair

Best scenario

Cord Jefferson
American fantasy

Best first screenplay

Sammy Burch; Story by Sammy Burch and Alex Mechanic
May December

Best international film
(Given to the manager)

Anatomy of a fall
Director: Justin Treat

Best Outstanding Performance in a New Scripted Series

Kevon Montreal Woodard
The last of us

Best Documentary Film
(Submitted to the director and producer)

Four girls
Directed by: Kawthar Ben Hania
Producer: Nadim Sheikhrouha

Best Supporting Performance in a New Written Series

Nick Offerman
The last of us

Best supporting performance

Davin Joy Randolph

Previously announced

Truer Than Fiction Award.
(Submitted to an emerging director of non-fiction features who has not yet received significant recognition)

Hernandez appointment
exit: invisible

Robert Altman Award
(Awarded to one film director, casting director, and ensemble cast)

Director: Kelly Reichardt
Casting Director: Gayle Keller
Cast: Andre Benjamin, Hong Zhao, Judd Hirsch, Heather Lawless, James Le Gros, John Magaro, Matt Malloy, Amanda Plummer, Marian Plunkett, Denzel Rodriguez, Michelle Williams.

Producers Award
(Honoring emerging producers who, despite very limited resources, demonstrate the creativity, perseverance and vision required to produce high-quality independent films)

Monique Walton

Person to Watch Award
(In honor of the talented director with a unique vision who has not yet received proper appreciation)

Monica Sorel
Director: Mountains

Best cast in a new scripted series

Jury duty
Cast: Alan Barinholtz, Susan Berger, Cassandra Blair, David Brown, Kirk Fox, Ross Kimball, Pramod Kumar, Trisha Lavash, Mickey Leiber, James Marsden, Eddie Modica, Kerry O'Neill, Rashida Olaiola, Whitney Rice, Maria Russell, Ishmael Shahid , Ben Seward, Ron Song, Evan Williams

See also  Anne Heche Crash House owner shares her grief and thanks for the support - Deadline