Ville de Quebec: $ 2.26 million split payments to outgoing elected officials

Quebec’s elected representatives did not bow down or leave empty – handed in the last election. They divide the total amount of $ 2.26 million into dividends and conversion payments.

Read more: The third link is a camera that no one wants, according to Claude Villanuev

Read more: Merchant hopes for a “quick deal” with his colleagues in the divided cities

Regis Lபbez, Quebec’s former mayor, was sentenced to 14 years later as mayor of $ 265,494 or $ 92,367 in severance pay and $ 173,127.

In fact, elected officials are entitled to a severance bonus by law “when they cease to be members of the Municipal Council after accumulating at least two years of service credited to the pension scheme.” With regard to transfer payments, an elected official is entitled to it when he is terminated “after being a member of the Municipal Council for at least 24 months before the expiration of his order.”


Defeated mayor Mary-Josie Schwartz came out with $ 150,899.98 or $ 20,047.98 in severance pay and $ 130,852 in replacement pay.

In total, 15 elected officials will share the envelope designated for this purpose, of which four will not be re-elected, namely Emily Villeneuve, Susan Verrod, Patrick Pocket and Jean Rousseau. All 15 selected officers will benefit from this bonus as they have completed their last order.

Before the end of the order

In 2015, Mayor Labeaume wanted to amend the city’s policy of awarding these bonuses if some councilors decide to leave during their mandate.

It was specifically based on a position adopted by the Union Board of Municipalities of Quebec, which was for the policy of waiving any “departure bonus” if the elected officer left before the end of his order, unless he was motivated by serious personal motivation. Reasons.

See also  Ruined vacations: Quebecers stranded at airport due to forest fires

In 2018, the Quebec government passed a law moving in this direction. Henceforth, severance pay and conversion allowance will no longer be paid to selected officers who resign during their tenure.

See also

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *