Order of Canada | The Governor-General announces 135 appointments

(Ottawa) The Governor-General of Canada on Wednesday announced 135 new appointments, including two comrades, 39 officers, an honorary member and 93 members.

Writer Jan Martell and Senator Murray Sinclair are new comrades in the Order of Canada.

Mr. Mortell is honored for his contribution to literature and for his philanthropic work, while Mr. Sinclair was recognized for his advocacy of aboriginal legal issues and for his commitment to reconciliation between indigenous and non-indigenous peoples in Canada.

Quebec researchers Carl-Éric Aubin, Roderick R. McInnes and Jacques Yves Montplaisir are on the 39-man list, along with four Cubes, Neil Bissundat, Thomson Highway, Louis Trottier and Ian Tomplin for cultural contributions.

Three well-known Quebec personalities, host Mark LaBrace, musician Yves Lambert and former Olympic athlete Bruni Surin are on the list of 93 new members of the Order of Canada.

Recipients will be invited to receive their stamps from Governor General Mary Simon at ceremonies to be held at later dates.

See also  Juniper was flooded again

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *